Tennis Elbow Window   Week 17   Mie Olise Kjærgaard

Your name

Mie Olise Kjærgaard

Your current location

Countryside, Småland in Sweden.

Your favorite pastime

Biking in the sun—no hands

Something you like

Bonfire with friends and kids, table tennis, building stuff.

Something you dislike

Mansplaining

Your defining characteristic

Lazy

What would someone close to you say your defining characteristic is

That I am lazy, then go bananas to compensate.

Your favorite artist

Rose Wylie, Marisol Escobar, Janet Cardiff

Favorite word or phrase

“Haze" or "to be puzzled"

What aspect of your work is most important to you

Strokes, colours. Working alone in the studio, listening to music.

Who do you admire the most and why

My mother, she is full of good energy and always supporting.

Your worst habit

Salty liquorice/postponing.

The first thing you think of in the morning

Where am I? + Coffee!

What have you always wanted to do and have not done

I'd like to trek: Chile, the Alps and New Zealand. And visiting some shipyards on the Falklands...

 

Your best decision

Having my kid

Your worst decision

Squeezing in the dishes, laundry and other stupid practicalities on my way to the airport. Lost more than 20 flights on that account.

Your favorite street and why

The pathways of Marstand, Sweden.

What made you become the person you are

Combination of having to walk the long and curved road, coming from a small island in the outskirts of Denmark, and a big thirst for pushing myself into world and societies I never even knew existed (and probably withdrawing myself from—afterwards).

Something that you treasure 

Indolence, salty liquorice, playing tennis + table tennis.

 

What would the child you once were think of the adult you have become

My perspective of adulthood was lots of kids, a big household, very serious—so I'd probably be disappointed ;-)

 

Your greatest fear

I hate things that move fast, jet skiing, roller coasters, frogs jumping and of course the near future of humankind.

BECOME A MEMBER

MEMBERS RECEIVE EXCLUSIVE 

ACCESS TO WEEKLY EXHIBITIONS 

APPLY NOW

  • Instagram
  • Facebook